After The Battle

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Online Store
ATB Books
ATB Magazine
ATB Magazine
Index of Issues
Bart Venderveen Trophy
Readers Reviews
External Links

Site Search: Phone 01279 41 8833 or Contact Us

Home > Bart Vanderveen Trophy

Bart Vanderveen Trophy

The Bart Vanderveen Challenge Shield is awarded annually to the individual, chosen by nominations, who has contributed most to the military vehicle preservation movement. Inaugurated and sponsored by After the Battle, publishers of Wheels & Tracks magazine which was founded by Bart Vanderveen in 1982 and edited by him until the 75th issue published in April 2001.

The annual award is made to the individual who is felt to have contributed most to the military vehicle preservation movement, and the name is chosen from nominations made by fellow enthusiasts. As a mark of respect, for the first year the award was made posthumously to Bart; in 2002, the recipient was Peter Grey; Rex Cadman and IMPS were joint winners for 2003; and in 2004 the award went to Tony Budge; the late Joe Lyndhurst was posthumously given the award in 2005 and in 2006, Preston Isaac was the winner. Mike Stallwood took the award in 2007 and in 2008 Jack Beckett was the recipient. 2009 saw David Fletcher receiving the award, and in 2010 the award was presented to John Marchant. In 2011, Nigel Hay was awarded the trophy. The 2012 award was presented to John Belfield with a Special Lifetime Achievement Award being presented to Barbara Dixon. The 2013 award was presented to Richard Beddall. In 2014 the award was made to John Blackman on his retirement as Editor of Classic Military Vehicle Magazine. The 2015 award was made to Brian Baxter, the reitiring Deputy Curator of the REME Museum in Arborfield.

The shield sponsored by After the Battle, is now managed jointly by the Military Vehicle Trust (MVT) and the Invicta Military-Vehicle Preservation Society (IMPS). Please send your nomination for the 2015 award to either organisation, including your name and address, to for the IMPS or for the MVT.

Please click below to view a rundown on each year's award.


2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007
2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
2014 2015