After The Battle

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Online Store
ATB Books
ATB Magazine
ATB Magazine
Index of Issues
Bart Venderveen Trophy
Readers Reviews
External Links

Site Search: Phone 01279 41 8833 or Contact Us

Home > Bart Vanderveen Trophy > 2006

Bart Vanderveen Trophy > 2006

The Bart Vanderveen Challenge Shield is awarded annually to the individual, chosen by nominations, who has contributed most to the military vehicle preservation movement. Inaugurated and sponsored by After the Battle, publishers of Wheels & Tracks magazine which was founded by Bart Vanderveen in 1982 and edited by him until the 75th issue published in April 2001. The trophy is presented at the War and Peace Show, which is the world's largest gathering of privately owned military vehicles, held annually at The Hop Farm, Beltring, Paddock Wood, Kent, in July.

Please click below to view a rundown on each year's award.


2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007
2008 2009 2010 2011 2012  


In 2006 the trophy was awarded to Preston Isaac.

This was Pat Ware's address:

The Bart Vanderveen Challenge shield was inaugurated in 2001 by Winston Ramsey of After the Battle, publishers of Wheels & Tracks magazine, in recognition of Bart’s huge contribution to the military vehicle movement. Since 2005, Classic Military Vehicle magazine has jointly administered the award.

Bart saw beauty in military vehicles when others saw scrap. He restored his first vehicle in 1959, after publishing a book on the subject. During the ‘sixties Bart’s Olyslager books became — and remain — essential for enthusiasts world-wide. He went on to publish many books and was editor of Wheels & Tracks from 1982 until his premature death in 2001.

The Bart Vanderveen Challenge Shield, established to respect his memory, is presented annually to the individual who has contributed most to the military vehicle preservation movement. Nominations are made by fellow enthusiasts, and the award is made at War & Peace. Previous winners have included Bart himself (posthumously), Rex Cadman and IMPS, Peter Grey, Joe Lyndhurst and Tony Budge.

Well known to many as the founder of one of the UK’s finest military vehicle museums, Preston Isaac of the Cobbaton Combat Museum is this years worthy winner.

After eventually settling on WW2 period, with British, Canadian and Commonwealth as his main interest, Preston bought a tracked vehicle — a Windsor carrier. This was joined by a Centaur tank and a Churchill from Pound’s fabled yard in Portsmouth. With typical understatement, Preston explains these were ‘quite a challenge’ to fix after 20 years in a scrapyard.

Housed in two hangars, the collection has grown enormously, now including more than 50 military vehicles and artillery pieces, and thousands of smaller items from 1939-45. The displays, even the spaces between the buildings, are deliberately cluttered. This is partly because Preston wants to recreate a feeling of homeliness — for many men all they had was their vehicle.

He rationalises the collection by saying that . . . ‘we owe it to previous generations to preserve what is left from the period which has been called Britain’s finest hour’.